almost final NEW PC SPECS... need suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

OnlyCurious

Daemon Poster
This is what I have come down to to far. Need all the suggestions I can get b/c this is my first build and I don't want to be disappointed. This pretty much meets my budget, so if I should get something else at the same price or for a LITTLE more, then tell me what I should get. Thanks!!

CASE:
COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW Black Aluminum Bezel, SECC ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail $44.99

MONITOR:
SAMSUNG 216BW Black - Silver 21.6" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor - Retail $259.99

CPU:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail $266.00 ( JULY 22 ;) )
OR:
Intel Core 2 Duo e6750 for $183.00

MOBO:
GIGABYTE GA-P35C-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail $159.99

RAM:
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400C4 - Retail $131.00

HDD:
SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD403LJ 400GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM $89.99

VIDEO CARD:
SAPPHIRE 100186L Radeon X1950XT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 VIVO HDCP Video Card - Retail $179.99

POWER SUPPLY:
Antec NeoPower NeoHE 550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply - Retail $109.99

DVD BURNER:
PHILIPS 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with 12X DVD-RAM Write Black IDE interface (ATAPI) Model SPD2413BD - Retail $31.99
OR:
SAMSUNG 18X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe and Software Black IDE - OEM $32.99 ( some review said this had horrible audio extration... not sure)

Right now, I'm not sure about the MOBO (b/c I won't be overclocking), not sure about the power supply (brand, quality, etc)

I would go with an ASUS mobo not gigabyte i had problems with them, dvd burner wise i would think philips would be ok but i recommend Lite On. And stick with ur monitor u wont be able to notice a difference is 2ms or 5ms. Plus its 2in bigger.