Help. I'm trying to install xp through a network

Status
Not open for further replies.

EricB

Chillin Techie
I'm following this guide

WINNER (Windows Is Not Necessary for Everyone's RIS)

I don't really understand this part.

WINNER (Windows Is Not Necessary for Everyone's RIS)

I'm serving a DHCP server on my LAN, giving my clients IP addresses ranging from 10.1.2.200 to 10.1.2.202 (pool = 2).

I'm guessing that my range starts at 192.168.0.100 to 192.168.0.182 and my range is 182

NetworkBoot.jpg

is this correct?

thanks. will this work with gigabit network? do the workgroup name have to be workgroup? do the username have to have a password?

I'm a noob to all of this

If I'm understanding your setup correctly you're installing both a DHCP server and a PXE server on that box.

You're partially correct on your setup if this is what you want.

The size of the pool is up to you to decide. I reommend setting it at 100 or smaller. This way you will have IP's ranging from 192.168.100-199.

You're going to have to disable DHCP on your router then (from the printscreen I see you have a DLink router running dhcp already).

In this setup, your router will act just as a router and DNS server while the box you're setting up with TFTPd will act as the DHCP server and the PXE server (this is recommended since PXE requests and responses are piggybacked on DHCP requests/responses).

Test these setting and see if it works.

If I'm understanding your setup correctly you're installing both a DHCP server and a PXE server on that box.

You're partially correct on your setup if this is what you want.

The size of the pool is up to you to decide. I reommend setting it at 100 or smaller. This way you will have IP's ranging from 192.168.100-199.

You're going to have to disable DHCP on your router then (from the printscreen I see you have a DLink router running dhcp already).