Looking to upgrade...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erratic

Solid State Member
first of all, I only plan on using my computer for internet browsing and some gaming (ok ok fine 100% world of warcraft junkie) anyways looking to geta few more FPS out of my computer.

currently im using a bone stock a1340n HP pavilion desktop w/ windows XP.
Im looking at getting possibly a new video card,another stick of memory, and a bigger power supply if it is helpful.

my budget is around $200-$300.

anyhow, im new to the whole computer upgrading scene so if you need any other info id be glad to provide:D

This computer has a pci-e x16 slot available. Thats the best thing you wanna hear when upgrading. As for the memory, you could buy another 1GB memory module or take out the old one and buy s matching set: 1GB (2 X 512MB).

If you mix memory sticks they will only run at the slowest of the speed that your other sticks run at. Which means if you have a 333mhz and a 500mhz ram stick they will both run at 333mhz.

cant quite figure out who makes the memory, it has a "M" on it though :p

does it matter if i mix and match memory sticks?

as for video cards, i was looking at either of these 2:

Newegg.com - ATI 100-505151 FireGL V3100 128MB 128-bit DDR PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail $159
Newegg.com - ATI 100-437808 Radeon X1650PRO 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail $169

im thinking these both would work fine but like i said, not much experience with the whole upgrading of computers.

The first video card is not for gaming, but for graphics rendering I believe. The second one, cost too much for what it can do. So I would suggest this:
Newegg.com - EVGA 256-P2-N624-AR GeForce 7900GS 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 KO Video Card - Retail
It plays most game on mid-max settings. And will definitely play WoW on high settings or more, depending on your resolution.

For power supply: