new R600 benchmarks

Status
Not open for further replies.
depending on what benchmarks ur looking at, the x2900XT could be compariable to the GTS 640 which is also $400 value.

also anyone notice how the 2 reviewers benchmarked different games so we can't compare their performance :p

well one thing we can be sure of, the R600 will get better with age as they improve the actually card with revB pcbs and on and with newer drivers. i dont think the 2900XT is anywhere near a crummy card, it just has some software issues. If anything I think once reliable drivers are made it will surpass the 8 series cards.
Reading comments about it before its release, one would've thought they would've surpassed the 8 series cards immediately, and by a fair bit if one considers some of the more enthusiastic comments made. Even as a complete newbie myself, I'm disappointed in its performance considering its late release compared to the GTX.

well you consider that it took a couple of driver release for the 88 to get as good as it is
its only the second driver revision for ati and its beating the gts and gtx in some cases so with another driver revision just imagine the power it could weild

there really is a HUGE inconsistancy here in the performance of the R600 after its new drivers came out . I mean read both reviews of it, they said pretty much exactly opposite things. One says the card can't even keep up with performance with a 8800 GTS 320 while the other says the R600 can beat the 8800 GTX in some cases!?! One of them is right...the other is wrong...we need to find out which

Half-life 2, FEAR and all other game were tested are known to run better on ATI

If you look at the benchmark for Supreme commander oblivion and STALKER, the 8800GTS beats HD2900XT
AMD's Radeon HD 2900 XT graphics processor - The Tech Report - Page 11

So, in other words HD2900XT is barely faster than 8800GTS, and it is more expensive, consume much more power, and produce a lot of noise