Help with objects in Java

Status
Not open for further replies.

PnkFloyd27

In Runtime
I'm new to Java and I am trying to make a robot fighting game(I know it's cheesy). What I want to do is have each robot be it's own object. I try to do something like this:

if the player's attack# is <= the robot's attack# then they win

The problem I am having is getting the player's attack number. It is in the main class but I don't know how to refer to it in the robot classes. Please help, I'll try to explain it differently if I didn't do a good job of that. Thank you.

You should have a game manager class that will host the game, instantiate player/robot objects, and be responsible for starting and stopping games. As long as each robot object publicly exposes its attack number, the game manager class (or subsystem) should have no problem determining the winner. Maybe each robot should send a message to the game manager when its attack number changes. You'll have to decide what design you like best, but you should use a third party (game manager) to keep track of (or monitor) attack numbers.

Would the game manager be the one with the main method?

How do I edit a single variable.
i.e.
if the player wins, then they get $200.
How do I edit the money variable that's in a different class?

Would the game manager be the one with the main method?

How do I edit a single variable.
i.e.
if the player wins, then they get $200.
How do I edit the money variable that's in a different class?
Understand that I'm not trying to be offensive, but judging from your questions, I think you might want to concentrate on learning the basics of object oriented programming before trying to make a game. How much programming experience do you have?