Modding Mouse LED

Status
Not open for further replies.

mnelson07

In Runtime
So I was looking at my mouse (which I like a lot) and I was wanting to change the LED in it. Everything else with my PC is a black/blue scheme and I want the mouse to match it.

First I plan to change the LED to blue (if possible) and then spray paint the white to a shiny black.

I know I could easily buy a mouse like the Razer Diamondbacks but this is much more cost efficient and gives me a personal sense of accomplishment. Also, I've bought the Diamondback and a few other mice and I just don't care for any of them compared to this mouse. I've had it forever and it works wonderfully for casual use and gaming. I love its feel and button placement. I only mention that so I don't get pointless responses suggesting I purchase another mouse.

Anyways, I attached a picture of the LED itself when I cracked the shell off. I've looked around online for places to buy an LED light. But I have no experience in this field of modding. I don't know if I'll have to solder anything, or what. The only place I found something somewhat relevant or looking close to what I needed was FrozenCPU.com. They had 3mm LEDs which I thought could possibly be it, but their stems or whatever you call them look extremely long.

Oh, and sorry for the somewhat blurry pictures. They were the best I could do.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    64.3 KB · Views: 1,027
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    60.6 KB · Views: 1,100
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    56.9 KB · Views: 1,271
I think the LED sensor only sees red.

Time to learn how to use a camera:
What model camera do you have?
You need to find the marco feature, its a little flower on the selector
With practice, images come out looking like this:
videovy7.jpg

img0036ij2.jpg

How do you tell whether it only sees red or not?

I have a Sony PowerShot SD630