Building

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fatboyz

Solid State Member
Hi everyone out there and thanks for looking. This fall I am planing on building a computer but I am new to computer building and need some help. I want a gaming computer and work computer too. I want it to be really nice computer, not really worrying about my buget. I just want something really nice.

Like I said am a newb and you have probably seen many posts like this before but I really want to build one so I could cut down the cost and have a nice computer when I am done. What I want to know is what kind of set-up do guys think that would be cool and work good? Can you give the names and links if possable? I am newb so please explain it good. I know a little bit but not even close to most of you on here. Also what is Overclocking??

Thanks ALOT

I am going to see how much I can help, any of you other guyz can help out at anytime.

Basically you want to get a system that is specified to your needs, like what kinda games do you plan on running, because if you wanna just play something like solitaire you dont need very much power, like one of those 1986 VIA numeric processors should work fine, but if you wanna play game that are more graphically demanding like Quake III Arena then you would need a much more powerful system. For example: Min Specs:pentium 233mhz an 8MB graphics card and 64MB of RAM. Seeing as thought Quake III Arena is a 4 yr. old game those are relatively low standards, but if you would like to play that game on a much higher level then I would suggest something over 800mhz processor wise, over 128MB's of RAM and atleast a 64MB graphics card.

But I would personally recommend a system that looks similar to this:

Monitor: 17" +
Optical Mouse
Standard Speakers
Standard Keyboard
16x DVD-ROM (possibly even a DVD+-R/RW drive)
52x24x52 CD-RW drive
AMD Athlon 2800+
ATI Radeon 9600 and above with 128MB DDR