Checking my Build...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aynite

Beta member
Hello, I'm a newbie at computers (Just learning about RAM, grpahics cards, ext in the last few monthes o_o) and I wanted to know if this build is good or not. I'm looking for a build that will allow me to play Nice FPS and RTS games. I also need it to last awhile. So, if you can, rate this out of 10 and give me some tips on making it better. I do have a budget which I'll put on the bottom with the price.

CPU: (Socket AM2) AMD Athlonâ„¢64 X2 6000+ Dual-Core CPU w/ HyperTransport Technology
MOTHERBOARD: (Socket AM2)MSI K9N4 SLI-F nForce 500 SLI Chipset DDR2/800 SATA-II RAID MBoard w/ Dual 16x PCI-Express
MEMORY: (Req.DDR2 MainBoard)2GB (2x1GB) PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory (Corsair Value Select or Major Brand)
VIDEO CARD: NEW!!! NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB 16X PCI Express (EVGA Powered by NVIDIA)
HARD DRIVE: Single Hard Drive (320GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache 7200RPM HDD)
Data Hard Drive: NONE
Optical Drive: (Special Price) 18X DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW DRIVE DUAL LAYER (BLACK COLOR)
Optical Drive 2: SONY 16X DVD-ROM (BLACK COLOR)
SOUND: HIGH DEFINITION ON-BOARD 7.1 AUDIO

Price= $1460.00 without rebates. My budget is around 1600, but I really don't want to go any higher than this.

I am ordering this computer from CyberpowerPC. Good company? I just want to make sure everything is good before I order it. Thanks!

if u liv in america u should buy of newegg.com

this is what i suggest:
e6420 $189.00
gigabyte ds3 $129.00
gskill 2gb hz $119.99
bfgtech 8800gtx $579.99
seagate 320gb hdd 16mb cache $94.99
lite-on sata dvd combo drive*2 $25.99/25.99

total: $1164.95

Yup go C2D. Get an after market cooler and learn how to overclock. There are a lot of people on here who can help you with that as well.