Should I get a PC at the moment?

Status
Not open for further replies.

multi86

Solid State Member
Hi,

I've been using my Pentium 4 equipped computer for a few yrs now. I decided it is time to upgrade since it is becoming slow and unfit for games. I'm planning to build a system and just keep the HDD.

My question/problem is:

SHOULD I UPGRADE NOW?
The concern being is that I see all those updates and announcements of new, fast and improved products (i.e. CPU). Everyone is talking about how QuadCore is the new technology that will reshape the PC market, which is too expensive to be affordable at the moment. All the discussion about AMD upcoming chipsets such as Barcelona, which will be uber fast as well make me believe that if I buy a system now, it will become obsolete and incomparable to all the upcoming CPUs

Does it make sense to buy an Intel Core 2 Duo CPU (E6300) at the moment?
Because it looks like most PCs will be equipped with QuadCore chips in 1-2 yrs. I wouldn't want to invest in another PC or a motherboard in 1-2 yrs. Also there is the issue of the new DDR3 technology; once again, it promises a better functioning and more efficient memory than DDR2.
It is just that I wanted to get a new PC this summer and all those swift technological advances bring a lot of uncertainty for someone who wants to purchase a PC.

Appreciate the help.

Well you can't keep up with technology, because there will be always something new brewing, the next month.

I'd suggest you wait, until July 22, when Intel makes it's price drops. You can get a quad core for just $266. Or the 1333MHz C2Ds, like the E6550.

Oh.....Welcome to T.F.!

Or you could get a low end AMD now to tide you over for the summer, then try to sell it and invest in a quad core system at the end of the summer. Its really your choice but you cannot stay on top of technology.

Just wondering, What would you guys think is better, A Quad core or a dual core running at 1333 MHz on the fsb?