AVG Free problems,,

Status
Not open for further replies.

TomW

In Runtime
Hello, I have a old PC with 98SE on it, I have had AVG free on it for a long time. I don't know what happened but I can't update AVG anymore. I have totally uninstalled and reinstalled AVG free 7.5 about 4 times but it still don't work. I get

"Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
Runtime Error
Program C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG7\AVGINET.EXE
This application has requested the runtime to terminate in a unusual way.
Please contact the applications support team for more information."

I also get,
"AVG 7.5 Exception
something bad happened in the application
Error diagnostic file saved to C:\PROGRAM FILES\AVG7\AVGCC.err."

I got on AVG's forum and did what they said to do, at least I think I did everything right, I am no expert when it comes to computer programs, anyway they said it isn't a problem with the AVG but some other problem.

I tried downloading Microsoft Visual C++ runtime library, or at least what Microsoft said was the latest version that works on 98SE but it didn't help.

I can't find the original Microsoft Visual C++ runtime library to see if I can remove it and reinstall it if it is even possible.

I also have Spybot SD and Ad-Aware SE {free one} installed. I also have a program called CleanUp to get rid of junk files and RegCleaner, but I have had all of these on a long time also with AVG and never had any problems before now.

I have run Housecall on the PC and it didn't find any problems.

I don't know if I did something to mess things up? It just started to do this one morning when the automatic update tried to run. All the other programs seem to be working OK, just problems with the AVG 7.5 free version.