AMD overclocking?

Status
Not open for further replies.

veg1992

Golden Master
I'm new to using AMD processors for overclocking and i've heard that they use unlocked multipliers...... is this true?

we should be so lucky. only the fx has an unlocked multiplier. now, you can lower it, but raise it above stock...nope.
aren't you getting a a 3600? it will have a multi of 9.5, so make sure you get a decent mobo that will handle a high external clock if you want to have good results.
did you decide on that t550?

actually i am thats y i was asking (u have a great memory man [hahahahaha realized the pun lol]) actually i was getting one of these Asus M2N-SLI (well i have one lying around so i'll use that) with some Mushkin Xtreme RAM 4-4-3-10 Latency lying around so no need for RAM i got 2 1 gb sticks

also help me plan to OC!! i'm afraid i may screw my 3600+ if i OC too much with too much of a voltage, with the e4300 i had no trouble as i copied Anandtech's test bed

actually i am thats y i was asking (u have a great memory man [hahahahaha realized the pun lol]) actually i was getting one of these Asus M2N-SLI (well i have one lying around so i'll use that) with some Mushkin Xtreme RAM 4-4-3-10 Latency lying around so no need for RAM i got 2 1 gb sticks

also help me plan to OC!! i'm afraid i may screw my 3600+ if i OC too much with too much of a voltage, with the e4300 i had no trouble as i copied Anandtech's test bed

those should work great. lemme know when you need help!

oh another thing i wanna use the stock AMD cooler for OC'ing my Brisbane, will it be able to hit 3 Ghz with it? or go ahead and buy the Monsoon II Lite CLT-M2LA AMD Air Cooler

So My Build Will Be As Follows:

- Sigma Gaming Orca (came with that PC i found in the garbage , u no the one with the MCE Disk in it {score!!!]
- CoolerMaster Unit 600 Watts eXtreme Power PSU
- AMD Athlonâ„¢64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9 Ghz
- Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe nForce 590 SLI
- Monsoon II Lite CLT-M2LA or Stock AMD Cooler