Some help building a gaming computer please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duzenbury

Beta member
So I am pretty new to computers (and these forums), and I was wanting to build a decent gaming computer for FPS's and SWG and of course the new C&C (also to be used for school, and some light photo/video editing/recording) I think I know some parts I want... any advice or suggestions would be amazing.

Im looking to spend below 2000 dollars on my computer, and im looking for a HD monitor that can double as my TV (20in Wide I think) and work with and Xbox 360 Elite (using the HDMI or what ever that is... sorry I dont know very much)

Heres what im thinking I may order (Im sorry I dont know much technically, sorry if I get anything wrong :

-CPU- AMD ADA5600IAA6CZ AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ (Dual core AMD? or Intel core 2 duo?)

-Motherboard- Asus A8N32-SLI DELUXE

-Video Cards- eVGA 512-P2-N635-AR EVGA nVidia GeForce 7950GT KO 512MB x2 (SLI mode)

-Memory- OCZ Technology OCZ2N10662GK OCZ PC2-8500 2GB(2X1024)

-Hard Drive- Western Digital 150GB SATA 10000RPM (should I get Raid 0 with 2 36.7GB hard drives and then buy a data hard drive?)

-Power Supply- OCZ MODXSTREAM OCZ900MXS 900W MODULAR POWER SUPPLY

-OS- Windows Vista Home Premium

Thats what I've got so far, I know I need a case, and some sort of cooling system (water cooling? if its not too expensive) a modem, network card, and a few other things I've probably left out.

Anything you all could help me with would be great, thanks :)

First thing, with your budget, I would RECOMMEND getting Intel Core 2 CPU.
Second, you might want to consider an 8800GTS over the 7950GT. It is only about $50ish more....
Newegg.com - PNY VCG88GTS32XPB GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail