Needing a pc.. £600 to £800

Status
Not open for further replies.

slashnmash

Baseband Member
Hey guys, I am a bit of a noob when it comes to computer hardware and was wondering what you guys would recommend for me. I'm on a UK budget of ideally around £600 maybe more if I can get some money from birthdays and soo on. Im aiming for a system that will play source based games flawlessly and hopefully upcoming games like UT07. And i might be running vista on in it...

I have been browsing the old overclockers.co.uk and with a bit of friends guidance, I have been opting for:

Intel Core 2 DUO LGA775 E6300 1.86GHz Retail / Gigabyte 965P DS3 / 1GB GeIL PC2-6400C4 Dual Channel Kit - Bundle £260

Hyundai ImageQuest N91W 19" Widescreen LCD Monitor - Black £146

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB ST3320620AS SATA-II 16MB Cache £60

Samsung SH-183LBEBN 18x18 DVD±RW Dual Layer Serial ATA Lightscribe ReWriter (Black) £20

Antec Nine Hundred Ultimate Gaming Case £60

Hiper HPU-4M580 Type R 580W ATX2.2 PSU - Black £52

BFG GeForce 7600 GT OC 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail BFG GeForce 7600 GT OC 256MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail £82

Plus postage that costs around £700

Any general guidance on changes which I should make would be appreciated. Ideally I do not want it to cost any more. I hope to get this by late june, latest late july as I wanna take it to i31.

Cheers guys!:D

Looks good, but aren't the e6320's & e 6420's available in UK?
The extra 2MB of cache will come in handy.

Based on Overclockers.uk current prices, it looks like they are actually cheaper then the e6300 & the e6400 respectively.

I tried that site and it seemed to good to be true. I bulit this for under £600

Total Price: £561.12
Case: Aguila in Black
Power Supply: 720 watt
Processor: Core 2 Duo E6300 Dual Core
Memory: 2GB DDR2 800
Hard Drive: 400 GB
Optical Drive: Additional DVD ROM
Monitor: 22inch Widescreen LCD TFT
Graphics Card: nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB