First Rig help

Status
Not open for further replies.

encity5

Baseband Member
Well after some research, i have gotten a pretty good idea to what i want my build to consist of, im still having a little trouble with chooisng a motherboard thats right for me. I want to buy a motherboard that isnt priced to high, as overclocking isnt much of an incentive to me, but i want that option there. its my first build so i dont want to go crazy overclocking (for my first time) on a brand new rig. but i would be able to see myself overclocking in the future, just dont want it to influence my purchase to much to have to raise my budget
Some things i need help with, motherboard decision, ive been looking between an Asus nforce 650i or the p5b deluxe or the gigabyte DS3 boards, just unclear to which i should be gettin, i want to keep the motherboard price under 200.
also with a powersupply, i listed a powersupply that looked like it got good reviews around, but if anyone can suggest a cheaper alternative which isnt crap either, id be grateful.

Case Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail
PSU OCZ GameXStream OCZ600GXSSLI ATX12V 600W Power Supply - Retail
CPU Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6600 - Retail
Ram G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ - Retail
HD Seagate Barracuda ES ST3320620NS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
DVD drive SAMSUNG 18X DVD±R DVD Burner With 12X DVD-RAM Write, LightScribe Technology Black SATA Model SH-S183L - OEM
Total - $841.95
(this is w/o the motherboard)
and the PSU i chose is 130 dollars.

As for the video card, im pretty settled with an 8800 card, just depending on my budget ill either be going for the gts 640 or 320.

As for SLI, i dont see myself going SLI atm as i dont see any use for it, but i think i would like that option for the future.
Thanks!