brand new $700-$800

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jae

In Runtime
i'm looking for an up-to-date build. i've been using my hp for about 3 years now and it's getting a little old. i'll mostly use it for gaming,web surfing, music, movies...and the general pc stuff. can anyone recommend me a build?

That is a sick build you can OC that processor to 2.8ghz. Im thinking about getting that same set up.

Jumping_Bean514's build is slick, I'm sure you'd have to oc that processor to keep it from bottlenecking that video card though.....only downside I can see to that build.

The 8600GTS right now isn't worth it. An X1950 Pro will provide similar performance for $60 less and DX10 really isn't too important unless you don't plan to upgrade it for a couple years.

The CPU wouldn't bottleneck it at stock although overclocking it anyway would be good.

I wouldn't get the Hiper power supply. My choices would be Corsair 520/Antec Earthwatts 500/Antec NeoHE 500 or 500/any fsp >450W/any seasonic >450W/any silverstone >450W/Xclios etc. The hiper isn't bad, I just think there are better in the price range. It puts too much emphasis on it's looks rather then its performance.

Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX500-A, 2.0 version, 2 SATA, PCI Express, 500W - Retail (my choice if you don't need modular)
Newegg.com - Antec NeoPower NeoHE 550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, TUV, CE, FCC, CCC, CB, C-tick - Retail
FRYS.com | Antec (amazing deal right now)
Newegg.com - XCLIO STABLEPOWER 500W ATX 500W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
Newegg.com - XCLIO STABLEPOWER 460W ATX 460W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail

Even this would do if you don't want to spend a lot (would limit future upgrades though especially if you're overclocking):
Newegg.com - XClio 450BL ATX 450W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB - Retail