Free slots on an Asus Stiker Extreme

Status
Not open for further replies.

zacharyt

Solid State Member
I really hope that there has not been any posts about this topic before. I searched around but didn't find any. Actually, I'm new to most of the newer technology out today, but used to be an avid computer builder back around the times of the 1 GHz pentiums:D

My question is actually about the Asus Striker Extreme. I know that when using newer video cards, such as the Geforce 8800 series, there are actually two slots being used. I want to run duel video cards, such as with the 8800, but also want to add a Physics card (still considering if this is worth it, may not do so), a sound card, and/or a wireless network card. I know that there will be issues with space, but how many free slots will there be if I use two video cards? I would maybe need two extra slots, if I do decide to go with a physics card. :nerd:

first, giving the mb model number would be great, also considering the physics card, DONT get it. Its not worth the money for the extra "flying" parts and most games dont really need it. The Geforce 8800 by its self takes up two slot's space and depending on the mb, you might not be able to fit two video cards.

Actually, I want the physics card for the upcoming unreal, but besides that, I would like a high end sound card, such as an Audigy, and a high end network card, such as the new Killer network card. I know I can't fit all of these cards onto the mobo, but I wanted to know how many I can fit w/ 2 vid cards.

Video cards require a PCI-E 16 slot while the other cards you have stated are either PCI or just PCI-E 4 or something.

SLi 8800GTX will actually eliminate the need for a physics card once DX10 is released due to new technology. Don't get one. Also don't ask me how that works becuase I don't know lol i've just heard it.

and a high end network card, such as the new Killer network card

dude i am not poking fun at all...but seriously.