Taking apart a PSU

Status
Not open for further replies.
You can discharge the capacitors with a screwdriver and a piece of copper wire.

Get a screwdriver that has a rubber handle (and/or wear thick rubber gloves) and then wrap a piece of stripped copper wire tightly around the metal part of the screwdriver. Put the other end of the copper wire into the ground hole of an electrical outlet.

Then, simply touch the screwdriver to any of the capacitors in the power supply.

NOTE: I have never tried this before and I don't know how well it works. I read about it in a guide to modding monitors, that's how they discharged the color tube.

If you don't want the hassle of that, just make sure you don't touch the heatsink or any of the large capacitors inside the PSU. I've taken a crapload apart to change fans or to remove the fans and use them for something else.

decibaL said:
However, some power supplies have the fan soldered on so you might be out of luck from the beginning.
IR-30.jpg

voltmeters do have significant resistance, so they'll work fine.

hahahaha holy cow i didnt no you could die from opening a power supply.

i changed my ps fan long time ago when i was like 13 to a blue led fan and the connectors didnt work so i ran the fan cable in with the other wires so it came out like a normal wire and i hooked it up. hmmm but i was never shocked or anything modding/changing fans on my power supply and i used to touch the big silver things lots i guess that was a bad idea :(

and i guess the guy at my local pc store didnt no what he was talkin about he said it would be fine to open it up and change fans with no worries... ****...