RAID help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nagasama

disgruntled ex-moderator
hey all.
my girlfriend wants to put sh*tloads of music on my (our LOL) computer. i don't want it clogging up hard drive. i also would like to store our pictures on a new one, as the file is becoming quite large. and all other miscellaneous crap.
basically i want my o.s. and games on my current drive, and pistures, music, documents, internet files, spyware, diagnostic programs, overclocking tools and all the other stuff that isnt an o.s. or a game lol on the new one.
somebody point me in the right direction of how to do this...
stickies, articles, opinions, etc. i.e. how to transfer the files intact to the new one, erase from the old one, set partitions on the new one, i probably? need to redo the partition on the old one and raid up the hdds. i am a total noob when it comes to multiple hdds. no sh*t...
by the way i will be purchasing a duplicate of my current hdd, WD caviar 7200k 160GB.

Im clueless when it comes to setting up RAID at well man but I think you'll want to go RAID 0 even though it might not be two completley different HD's but you will see increased performance in your system though so it may be worth it.

I don't think you have to really set up RAID if you just want two whole different storage drives on. I think you can hook up another HD W/O windows and open it up like you would like C:

I may be wrong though as there are many different types of RAID though....0 and 1 being the most popular but neither doing exactly what you want. I still say set those up on RAID 0 though and just keep different folders and stuff becuase not only will this increase your space for your girl but it will increase gaming and overall windows performance.

Just my two cents, but if you don't want RAID 0 then I believe you can just hook up the other HD straight in and stuff.