*PLEASE HELP!* Acronis TrueImage error - hardware problem?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeySilo

Beta member
Hi everyone. I've just joined the forum in the hope that some of you tech wizards might be able to help me solve a problem that's driving me absolutely nuts. Sorry if this is long winded, I'm not entirely sure this is the right place for the post, but it it might be...

I've just built a fairly hi-spec new PC. I'm by no means a total novice to computer technology, but I'm no expert either, and this is my first build. The purpose of the machine is primarily as a music production tool, but it'll be used to do other general things too. I previously used a Sony Vaio GRT-916V laptop as my main machine and regularly used Acronis TrueImage 9 to back up my HDs and also specific folders. I like this way of working since if I made any changes I wanted to reverse then I could always simply roll back to the last safe image. This gave me space to experiment safely with new software and settings.

With that in mind the first things I have done after building the machine were to run diagnostic tests, install the OS (XP Pro SP2), install all packaged mobo drivers, and then install Acronis TI9. Because of how i use it I decided to make an image at this stage, then tried to reinstall this image to test that it all works. Well... it doesn't... and I don't have any idea why :( The image DOES reinstall , but upon completion of the task I get a message saying "done but with errors". Windows then appears to work, but I have no notification what the errors were, and I'm worried that it could maybe all fall apart when I've got the PC just how I want it. It sort of kills the whole point of using TrueImage. Here's a list of details about my machine which might help you help me:

Hardware
ASUS P5B-VM motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz CPU + ThermalTake Silent 775 cooler
2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 PC6400 Ram (2x 1GB kit)