Computer for video editing...CPU, etc???

Status
Not open for further replies.

annieb727

Baseband Member
Hi Everyone...I'm very new at all of this stuff. I have been doing a lot of research here, but I still have some questions.

I am going to build a computer mainly for video editing (and of course internet, watching movies, and a few minor games like Sims, Monopoly and such, not a gamer). We want to build a good computer that will last a while. I was thinking the AMD 64 3400+ would be the best choice for a CPU, but then noticed it was only at 2.2 GHz, where the P4 is 3.2 GHz w/ Hyperthreading for about $100 difference.

I'm also not sure about the whole FSB stuff...I've been reading and I know it has to do with how fast the CPU "talks" to the memory and other parts -- is the 800 MHz in the P4 going to be TONS slower than the AMD 64 at 1600 MHz. I read something about how it's not always fully utilizing the FSB...how does that work.

Also what difference does the cache make?

Here's what we're thinking of doing for our computer (any comments would be greatly appreciated):

AMD 64 3400+ CPU (or P4 3.2 GHz Hyperthreading)
GigaByte K8NPro Motherboard (Gigabyte - 8IK1100 if I go w/ P4)
1 GB (2x512) PC3200 (is Crucial a good place to go?)
Seagate Ultra ATA 100 200 GB Hard Drive (most likely two of these)
Toshiba 16x DVD-Rom Drive
ATI Radeon 9600XT
YE Data All in One Internal Floppy
Chieftec Matrix Case (definitely need something with a locking case as we have a little boy who loves to press buttons)
Benq DVD+RW Burner (4x4x12x), CD-RW (16x10x32x) combo
Mercury PCTel 56K PCI Fax Modem
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 PCI Card
WinTV PVR-350
19" or so CRT Flat Screen Monitor

Thanks so much for your help and input!

~Annie

You don't need a CPU that fast, go with a 3200+ Barton, and that computer is good enough for any game that's currently out.

why do you say i should get the 3200+ barton?