A Few Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ellothar121

In Runtime
I was paging through all the stuff I plan on ordering within the next year, checking the reviews, etc. And I noticed two things;

A) The Motherboard I have on my list, while SLI (Which, after reading more about, I learned I don't need...), apparently has junk BIOS, and is reportedly problematic. It also allegedly can't overclock past 1300MHz, and I was hoping for at least 2.5GHz on an e6300. Can anyone confirm these things? If they're true, can you point me in the direction of a mobo with a better BIOS (preferably for </~$100)

2) I looked at the e6300, and the e4300, and their FSB speeds. After learning that their multipliers were locked (the e4300 at a higher one), I was wondering which would actually be the better purchase.

Yeah, after 5 pages of questions (on my part) and answers (on your guys' parts), I'm still a newbie. Go me ^.^

EDIT: Okay, some more simple math that most of you have already done, or don't care about. At the aforementioned 1300MHz cap, and the multiplier locks, you can reach ~2.268GHz on an e6300, and 2.926GHz on an e4300.

EDIT2: The math:
Proc: (M.Lock * 1300MHz) = a.bcdGHz
e6300: (~1.745)*1300MHz = ~2.268GHz(Approximately)
e4300: (2.25)*1300MHz = 2.925GHz (Exact)

EDIT the 3rd:

Links!
e4300
e6300
Motherboard

Yes but if you wait until Q2, they are putting the L2 cache up to 4M on the e6300 and e6400 while keeping the price the same and at that point, they will be way better than the e4300. That will give it a very noticable performance boost.

As for a motherboard, you might try the Biostar TForce 965PT. It comes in at 104.99 but is a solid board and has a good BIOS for OCing.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813138037

Check out this article for more infos
http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2903