New setup, any tips?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mitsu3kGTVR4

Baseband Member
So I have all my parts and I'm ready to put everything together, but before I do, I was wondering if I should be aware of anything before doing it. I'm not too experienced with this configuration so any help would be greatly appreciated.

This is what I have:

Case - Antec Sonata 2 which came with a 450 watt psu, may not be enough...
Motherboard - Intel 975XBX2KR
Processor - Intel Core 2 Duo 6600
Memory - 2 GB Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4, 4-4-4-12, 2.1
Hard Drives - 2 80 gig sata Seagate 7200's which I'd like to setup with Raid 0 and just run Vista on that, then 2 other sata hard drives to put all my data on.
Video Card - a crappy dual dvi pcie for now until I figure out what I want later

Any known issues I should know about before setting this up? The one thing I definitely need help with is configuring the memory correctly. Not really sure what the best settings are. I don't have any experience with Raid, but it seems easy enough. So let me know what you guys think, thanks

Go to your bios to set your ram, 4-4-4-12, 2.1v. Corsair ram never boots up right automatically, so just set it up manually. As for Raid, just look at some guides on the net. I will give you a link soon.

Yea Corsair XMS is now the brand of memory I actually frown apon becuase of all the things I keep hearing about it. I've had people's XMS that didin't overclock more DDR2-900, or it won't boot up on the right volts. It's really dissapointing, and that's why I went with G.Skill.

I haven't had any problems yet. Yea though manually set the timings and volts in the BIOS.

thanks for the replies, i'll try setting the memory timings manually. what slots should i put each 1gb stick into?

d975xbx2.jpg

both in black or both in blue? does it matter?

anything i should know about seating the processor?