Replacement (quieter) fans?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sell224

Baseband Member
I own an Alienware Aurora 7500 PC, all stock except a new video card (x1900xtx). I am going to college next year and am planning on bringing this monster with me, but the one problem with it is it is very loud.

I have considered getting water cooling systems, but I am very not experienced and scared of them.

So.. I am thinking about replacing the fans in my computer with some more silent ones. Would anybody be able to point me in the right direction of what sort of fans I should buy? I'm going to open up my computer after I post this and count what exactly I will need and such.

Thanks!

I have no experience with watercooling so I can't help you there. What size of fans does it take? Scythe, Nexus, and Noctua all make pretty silent fans. Here's a site that might help you, since computer noise is all they deal with.

http://www.silentpcreview.com/

Thanks for the site! I'll take a loot at it.

I checked out my comp.. Basically I have 4 fans (well one is part of the power supply so I'm not exactly sure if that counts.)

The one above the heatsink said this: 12VDC Ball Bearing www.ajigo.com

The one on the side of the case said this: Cooler Master 12V .15A Rifle

And the third fan is part of my x1900xtx. I dont plan on replacing that really unless it is easy.

I got thinking as I had my case open.. there was SO much free space. I don't plan on upgrading my computer for a while, and all that free space just seems to be going to waste. I am already annoyed by how big my computer is, so I started thinking, why not just buy a new chassis with a very quiet cooling system and put everything I have in my alienware in there? (I am pretty sure my warentee is void in this thing anyways).

Sound like a good idea? I'll get a smaller chasis that looks a little bit cooler and is much quieter.

Any suggestions?