Questions From A Seo Rookie, a couple questions from a green SEO wannabe

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goldman1

Beta member
Hello Everyone!

I am a relative rookie to the SEO field. I am in my first real job since graduating college with a Marketing and English degree. My current position is the "Marketing Guru" for a relatively small HR consulting firm. Part of my duties include an emphasis on search engine optimization and surprise surprise my marketing education contained no mention of SEO (pretty standard I guess?).

I've been reading the forum here at High Rankings for the past month and can't thank you all enough for all the information you provide that I've been soaking up. You guys are Awesome! I've got a couple of quick questions that I didn't find immediate answers to on the other forums and am hoping somebody here can offer their suggestions.

1. I have the google link toolbar installed and when I run it on our homepage it shows up nothing. We have a number of links floating around out there on other sites relating to our line of business. However I place a space after the "link:" and google finds a number of links to my site. Is this something I should be concerned about? Am I missing out on link popularity pts. with the search engines?

2. I have been writing a number of content rich articles about our services and tools we use. These are currently being placed on a BLOG outside of our site's domain with links pointing back to our site. Would it be wise to also host these articles w/in our website's domain for search engine visibility?

3. I know that our site is being indexed by Google (two days ago actually), but some of the pages that have been there for at least a month are not found when I enter http://www.website.com/address/etc copied from the address bar of the page. Does this mean that these pages are not being indexed by Google? There are links to from w/in the domain. Would a sitemap be the best solution?