Animation/Gaming/Movie Computer build

Status
Not open for further replies.

-WX

Beta member
Dear all,

I am seeking a new computer build for a Animation/Gaming and movie watching purposes.

I am a Flash Animator and will be working on a major Flash project from time to time. I currently use a laptop to do my animations but it lags whenever details become slightly too complex. My laptop has 512 mb RAM. The thing is, I want to know what specific hardware I need to improve my animation experience so that it won't lag or delay. Does the RAM affect the lag I keep getting or is it something else?

I also use my computer to listen to music, watch a ton of movies and play online games. Basically, I need something that is great at multitasking and is able to work smoothly. Fast is the keyword, I love a speedy computer. Who doesn't?

Please recommend me on the specific hardware I will need to look for to build my dream computer.

Comments are greatly appreciated.

intel e6600 cpu
gigabyte ds3 mobo
fortron 450 watt psu
2gb ddr2 800 gskill
8800gts
a big hard drive probably a 500gb
a nice case maybe a coolermaster centeriun (sry cant remember how to spell it lol)

Budget wise something less than £1,000. I wouldn't want to spend unnecessary money on cases or etc, I just need good hardware for my computer.

I'm not so bothered about Hard drive space, I'm thinking 300 GB should be sufficient...

Sorry I don't know all the technical computer terms so you'll have to explain to me briefly what they do and how it helps my computer work better.

Thanks! :)

ok the ram is defiantly the bottleneck. last time i checked flash animations are not video card intensive, and Wolrd of Warcraft and the like arent known for killing a 7800.

My advice go with an Intel Core2 cpu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819115005
this 6300 is a good one to go with.

Are you going with Windows XP or Vista? either way you need at least 1 gigabyte of DDR2 memory, and probably more.