Take me Higher. lol

Status
Not open for further replies.

GreenMachine

In Runtime
I'm a noob when it comes to memory or any other timings for my new computer in order to overclock. The bios is arranged more complexly than my old system which i was more used to overclocking. I have a decent new setup as seen in my sig below. I've read about overclocking my processor and run into a problem which I read about on several different sites. When i take the processor a bit over, say from 200 to about 210 the pc just loops in restarting itself. Again, I guess this is due to voltages, timings, parts not running faster all around etc. Would someone care to help me get past this and take me higher? I see others' with slower computers than mine stock, running faster! I have CPUz and the ability to get any other needed information to you multiple times daily! I'm eager to get this show on the road! Thanks in advance!

thats odd that it does it at only 10mhz.
i know the problem you speak of, but mine does it when i get around 300 external clock speed.
a couple of things to try:
lower the ht multiplier from 5 to 4, or even 3. start with 4, tho. a lot of mobos do not like for the htt bus to be above 2000 (1000 x 2)AT ALL. so if you get the external clock above 250, you would want to lower it to 3, get it? my abit doesnt like the htt bus above like 1050-1100.
if i was a betting man, wait i am...lol, i would wager this is the problem.
up your voltage one notch (probably .25v)...this should allow you to boot at that (210) setting, although you should be able to (at least boot) way higher than that on stock voltage. i can boot my 4200 at like 265+ with stock vcore (stable...? pah!).
with that ram there is no way you should have to change the speed (i.e. set a "divider") at any external clock speed below at least 250ish+.
try these things and get back to me. we'll go from there.
also, what is your stock cpu multiplier? is it 11 on 4600, or 12?