Dual-Boot to Linux with two 160 GB Hd's, How do i?

Status
Not open for further replies.

csw3190

In Runtime
I was looking to use one of my 160 WD Caviars to run Linux, and the other to run Windows XP (which i'm running now on one hd). The second hd is totally empty, nothing. How do i: a) format the second hd correctly, b) load the three portions of downloaded linux files, c) Boot into the chosen OS after the first two steps, d) not f*ck up my computer. I'm a noob at this stuff, any help would b greatly appreciated. Thanx in advance

csw3190 said:
I was looking to use one of my 160 WD Caviars to run Linux, and the other to run Windows XP (which i'm running now on one hd). The second hd is totally empty, nothing. How do i: a) format the second hd correctly, b) load the three portions of downloaded linux files, c) Boot into the chosen OS after the first two steps, d) not f*ck up my computer. I'm a noob at this stuff, any help would b greatly appreciated. Thanx in advance

What Linux distribution are you trying to install?

I know with Mandrake there is no need to format the HDD beforehand as the installation process will handle that for you. Also when you say "load the three portions".. what are you talking about? If you've downloaded the 3 ISO files, you need to extract those images onto a blank CD and use them for the installation.

If you have not done so, I would also make a restoration point in XP before proceeding.

Finally, before you install your Linux distro, make sure you have all your drivers handy.

I've downlaoded the red hat bersion in three parts (disc 1, 2, 3). So what you're saying is that i put the three on CD's? And...um...what is a restoration point? Sorry i'm a noob tho, and as for the drivers, is that so i reinstall them in linux or...what?

csw3190 said: