BUY or Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Normy

Solid State Member
Hi all!
NEWBIE here!

I can purchase a compaq P4 2.8gtz 512 ram 80gig HD CDRWDVD machine for $550(new). The computer is mainly for internet with some moderate gaming. It does not come with a video card, but I would probably add a ATI9600 128. Im leaning toward this option.

In checking prices on the parts I dont think I could build the same machine for the money. Im not into over clocking and all the gaming but I would not be against building my own machine.

I do have an old compaq case with a 266mgz P2(maybe a P3), would this make an acceptale build case platform(pwr source etc)? Knowing that I need a new mobo and the whole works.

Anyone?

Thanks
Normy

i would build it. You can learn a lot and its cheaper. But i would get the ATI 9600 pro or even the 9600xt.

Okay,

Say I want to build it. Will my old case and pwr supply work? When I add up all the parts, I end up with more $$ outlayed than I would for the built system(incl shipping). Any suggestions as to a cheaper supplier than the egg or comp geeks would be appreciated.

Thanks

If you already have the OS and a decent case, I'd say build your computer. Even if it cost you a little more in parts. I doubt that compaq case will suit your needs. Not sure of which model you have, but if that compaq case can take a regular ATX motherboard and support at least two cd-rom drives, you can use it. Otherwise just go ahead and get yourself a decent case for about $70. You can get them cheaper with a cheaper power supply or without, but for $70 aim for a nice tower with some nice cooling vents and a 350watt power supply. Wattage depending on your processor and video card choice of course.

Buying a name brand computer is for the sheep. You want to be a wolf don't cha? :D

If I could build my own laptop I would, but I didn't get a dell.

:laughing: