ovrclck noob seeks experienced same

Status
Not open for further replies.

jessehclark

Baseband Member
first time OC please help im not stupid

ok, this is my first time overclocking and building my own pc. I consider myself fairly knowledgeable, but some things have me really confused. let's start with my specs.

antec p180 case
m2n-sli deluxe mobo (heatpipe no fan)
x2 4200+ 2.2ghz, am2 89w
arctic cooling freezer 64 w/ as5
1gb ddr2800 ram (pqi turbo)
250gb WD caviar HD
liteon dvdrw w/ lightscribe
xfx 7900gs 525m extreme
thermaltake purepower 600W sli

when i check cpu and mb temps via asus bios, im seeing, at thier lowest, 53c cpu and 32 mb. I overclocked some (11x, 245, 1.4375/1.45v) and the system seemed stable, but a little over a day later i blue screened. i immediately checked bios and cpu temp read 67c cpu 37 mb, but they quickly dropped to around 55c/32c. I wish i had a windows temp monitor, but i am running vista x64 and cant find one that works.

so, im wondering.. even when i had FIRST installed everything and i was running xp, the lowest temps i saw were around 53c on the cpu according to the bios. i thought max temp was 65 for these processors and normal idle was 30-40c. could bios be reversing the temps? are they off? how can i tell, and what could be causing these temps at idle/stock?

ps- my cables are all neatly tucked away and I have 2 120mm fans running full speed in addition to the heatsink's fan blasting away. they are all oriented correctly. system seems stable but 55c seemed hot to me, and i know i should be able to overclock to 2.6 or 2.7 without those kinds of temps.

also- to the touch ( i was careful) the heatsink and block underneath feel cool or warm to the touch. i got a tiny bit of as5 on my finger that baaarely sqeezed out so i know i was touching the right part. def. didnt feel like 55c.

okay.
first, when you say it "seemed stable", i take it to mean you did not run stability programs after you overclocked it?