Overclocking not registering in Windows

Status
Not open for further replies.

RalliArt882

Daemon Poster
Hi, I have a e6600 sitting on a Gigabyte DS3 965p motherboard. I am trying overclocking for the first time right now. Since I was going for 3.2 Ghz with a Zalman and AS5 cooling, I set the fsb to 356 and voltage to 1.43750. I have the memory setting set to AUTO, so it kicked the memory from 800 to 1068 (Corsair XMS2 Dominator).

I save the changes in the BIOS, and restarted. I went into the BIOS again to verify my settings, and they were still there. I checked my temps, and they went up from 28C on stock speeds to 40C because of the higher voltage.

So now, I'm in Windows. Yes, I did uninstall EasyTune5 first because I feared that might interfere with the OC. But, I guess the OC is not registering because the Windows device manager says both cores are still at 2.4Ghz, and Coretemp still says my voltage is 1.2750.

I'd like to apologize in advance because I am a noob OCer and this is my first time doing anything. Whatever I did, it can't be that bad because the rig is as stable as ever. For safety's sake, I'll go back to the BIOS and revert to the original settings while I wait for an answer. Thanks.

I don't believe that's true, I think windows senses whatever it's set to run at. Are you sure you're saving the modifications? It's a stupid one but it could be the problem. Well I could be wrong though so try CPU-Z and see what it says.

Are you looking at the system properties? It will list the processor as:

Computer:
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 cpu
6600 @2.40ghz
3.2ghz, how ever much ram you have.

Ive discovered that if you lower the multiplier, windows will still use the default multiplier. I have my e6600 at 8x425, but windows tells me im at 3.83ghz (9x425).