Mac Suggestions........

Status
Not open for further replies.

TonCrafter

Daemon Poster
I need to get a Mac for some Graphic Design purposes. I have zero knowledge of Macs. So, help me pick out a good one. :)

What kind of stuff do you want to do?

Unless you have some Mac specific software in mind, why don' t you just use the computer in your Sig.? It should be more than powerful enough..... and Windows runs most of the popular graphic design software (Photoshop, macromedia suite, etc.).

Otherwise, I would say that any one you would buy new right now would work.

I am doing some freelance work in the graphic design department for Victoria's Secret right now, and they all use older Mac's (G4's and G5's) so really ANY Mac you buy right now should be more than capable.... even the mini is more powerful than an old G4....

Well, my main reason for getting one is to get experience in using Mac. I figure it would be good for me to have experience in both Mac and PC for better job prospects. :)

moisiss said:
What kind of stuff do you want to do?

Unless you have some Mac specific software in mind, why don' t you just use the computer in your Sig.? It should be more than powerful enough..... and Windows runs most of the popular graphic design software (Photoshop, macromedia suite, etc.).

Otherwise, I would say that any one you would buy new right now would work.

I am doing some freelance work in the graphic design department for Victoria's Secret right now, and they all use older Mac's (G4's and G5's) so really ANY Mac you buy right now should be more than capable.... even the mini is more powerful than an old G4....

TonCrafter said:
Well, my main reason for getting one is to get experience in using Mac. I figure it would be good for me to have experience in both Mac and PC for better job prospects. :)

Sounds like a good idea.... especially if you are doing graphic design. I would love to get a Macbook pro.... if I had the money... but I don't. Oh well....