Building new desktop, help please...

Status
Not open for further replies.

pyrodog783

Baseband Member
Hi im basically upgrading my old pc, but i have many questions because this is my first build. I use it dominantly for gaming... COD, F.E.A.R, and stuff like that, but anyway i can spend up to $600- I need a new moniter, psu, mobo, processer, and case. I basically want to know if my old things will be compatible with the new things I buy, well here it is...

here is what i know about my ram, cards, psu, ect.
my pc is a 2002 dell dimension 8250

RAM: 2 sticks of 128mb samsung

Soundcard: Sound Blaster Live

Graphics Card: Nvidia Geforce (450 i think)

Wireless Card: Airplus Xtreme G DWL-G520

Hardrive: 120gb

Processer: Intel Pentium 4 2.66ghz

uknown card: it reads FD and LNK/ACT has a ethernet plugin

uknown card: has a pic of a phone, also has 2 phone line plugins(connects to my soundcard with a wire)

PCI chips: made by dell but idk what they do? never seen them in a pc cept mine.

MOBO: doesnt say what kind

*sorry if my info is kindof sucky lol , I did my best though,

*1.anyway, im confused because my mobo has 7 pci slots and im not sure if i need those other cards or the funky pci chips i mentioned.
*2.what are the funky PCI chips?
*3.Which is a mobo and processer thats good for gaming AMD or Intel?
*4.if i switch to AMD will my stuff be compatible with it? besides the mobo of course.
*5.will my hardrive work when I use it with the new mobo/psu i choose? or will I have to clean it of all its files?
*6.will all my cards/ram work with my new mobo?
*7.and will my old Ram be compatible with the mobo?

sorry about my nubishness...

btw heres a list of new parts I am going to buy unless you guys say otherwise...

new case: APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower

new power supply: APEVIA ICEBERG ATX-IB680W-BL ATX12V / EPS12V 680W

Moniter: Hanns·G HW-191DPB Black 19" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD