NV4 Video Card Issue ( nVdia GeForce 4 MX 440)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anderson225

Solid State Member
Hey, This is my first time here and I here to ask a question that is being a major pain to me. I own a nVidia GeForce4 MX 440. It worked fine until recently. I bought Half Life 2(HL2) and it said my drivers were out dated. So I did what any anxious gamer would do, I went to the nVidia website and got the driver that corresponded with my video card ( or atleast I think). Upon installing I went and tried HL2. I got an error message saying that I had a video card driver error.

This is a short hand version of what is said.

NV4 driver is not working properly, Please restart your computer.

I restarted and tried the game again, same results. I even tried to play a game that I play all the time ( World Of Warcraft ), This never even worked, the same error message. after I exit the message the screen becomes weird colours.

After restarting the computer I got a message that asks if I want to report this error to microsoft, I do and it gives me options. None of which are helpful.

Please help! If you can link the correct driver for my video card please do. If you know how I , someone who has little Computer knowledge, can fix it. Please tell!

Thanks,
Dylan.

Uninstalled drivers, installed the "Correct Link" and got the same message when I tried to play games. This is what it says:

Windows - Display Driver has stopped responding

The NV4_disp display driver has stopped working normally. Save your work adn reboot the system to restore full functionality. The next time you reboot the machine a dialogue will be displayed giving you the chance to upload data about this failure to Microsoft.

It's starting to annoy me because I really don't want to pay to get this fixed.

Thanks in advance,
Dylan