Building a Gaming comp, advice needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

GimiMyGF4Ti4600

Baseband Member
Okay, I have never built a computer before, but Im not stupid, and I know what componets are compatible with each other.

Motherboard: Shuttle AK37 GTR KT400 http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,3973,634863,00.asp
Preformance test: http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,3973,634852,00.asp

Ram: Undecided, desperate for advice (best preformance for the buck is what i need) Needs to be DDR333 though

Video Card: GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128mb, If prices change well enough by summer, I'll go with either the 4600 or ATI's 9700 pro./just 9700
Preformance test:
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,3973,740895,00.asp

Sound Card: Who gives a crap :-D

Hard Drive: a basic 20-30 GB 7200 rpm hard Drive, I'll most likely only use my machine for one game at a time anyways :-D Plus, this is a VERY easily upgradeable area.

Proccesor: AMD's Athalon XP 2200+ is the winner for the price for me. Of course ill probally step up to the 2400 or more as prices go down, remember, I'm not building it till summer time.
Test: http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,3973,478452,00.asp
Standard CD-Rom, fast of course.

Case can be decided last.